Ah! böwakawa poussé, poussé

#9 detail

#9 Dream
A mixed-media canvas entitled #9 Dream, completed in December 2010.

This is my ode to the song of the same name on John Lennon’s Walls and Bridges album.  A melting pot of primal vibrations, wildstyle, the busy hustle of New York City and pointillism.  It measures 50″ x 40″.

#9 detail
On posting this, I checked the date I eventually finished the painting
(it took about 2 months in all – a sitting here, a sitting there) and was surprised to see it was December 8th, 30 years to the day that Lennon was shot and killed.  Last stop NYC.  Lyrics to the song below:

So long ago
Was it in a dream, was it just a dream?
I know, yes I know
Seemed so very real, it seemed so real to me

Took a walk down the street
Thru the heat whispered trees
I thought I could hear (hear, hear, hear)
Somebody call out my name as it started to rain

Two spirits dancing so strange

Ah! böwakawa poussé, poussé
Ah! böwakawa poussé, poussé
Ah! böwakawa poussé, poussé

Dream, dream away
Magic in the air, was magic in the air?
I believe, yes I believe
More I cannot say, what more can I say?

On a river of sound
Thru the mirror go round, round
I thought I could feel (feel, feel, feel)
Music touching my soul, something warm, sudden cold
The spirit dance was unfolding

Ah! böwakawa poussé, poussé

#9 detail4
I plan to hold an exhibition of paintings, each piece being an abstract expression of favourite songs.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

